Tehn Down For What????

I had an interview with Tehn Diamond on Wednesday at 5:30pm at
Book Cafe.  These were the most interesting 30 minutes I got to spend with “The Happy Smurf”.  It was great to finally meet up and chat and ask him random things about his life and get to share them with you.  I wanted this interview to be different so that readers got to see a side of him that you do not normally read about. tehn-diamond-growing-pains-600x515

 

  • What are your thoughts on Social Media?

I believe everything in this world is neither good nor bad until we touch it; until we decide what it’s going to be.  If you know what you are doing, if you know why you are there and you manage yourself and your time well social media can be very good.  BUT it can easily become an addiction.  It can be very bad if you let it own and control you.

  • Would you consider acting?

It was actually my first love.  I started out as an actor and spent a lot of time on stage.  I was the lead role in most of the plays I did in High School such as Romeo in Romeo and Julliet.  I ended up excelling at my third love despite attempting to venture into acting.  I have managed to do the things I love the most which is rapping, singing and eventually I will look into acting.  I have been offered a number of scripts over the years but time has never been on my side.

  • Have you been in any commercial adverts?

Yes, but a long time ago. It was a Christmas advert which went like “We wish you a Merry Christmas, we wish you a Merry Christmas, we wish you a Merry Christmas, and a happy new year!!”  Unfortunately I can’t seem to remember which company it was but yes, I have been in a commercial advert before.

 

  • Why is Zimbabwe hip hop not taking off like South Africa and Nigeria?
  • We are completely different countries, different setups.
  • South Africa and Nigeria have well defined industry structures.
  • Access to funding.
  • Massive population
  • Zim hip hop fastest growing genre in this country, it’s a shame that people don’t really see that because they are constantly comparing us to our peers in South Africa and Nigeria. We are hot on their heels and this year is going to be the defining year and showcases how big hip hop is in Zimbabwe.
  • What are your personal goals for 2015?

I want to generate $100 000 worth of revenue this year from my various music business activities.

That’s what’s keeping me busy…

  • What have you lined up for your fans, album wise, live performances?

This entire year you will catch me performing somewhere at least once a week.  Alternatively have a look at my website….or type in or hashtag #SOTGNews and something will come up.

Album wise I am finally releasing my debut solo album by the second quarter of the year.

  • Relationship status?

Yes I am in a relationship but I will not be sharing her name.  Some people know her but I believe that in life when you have something you cherish you have to fight for it and protect it to keep the magic alive.

  • How old are you?

I am turning 30 next Saturday and there will be a party here at Book Cafe.

I don’t usually celebrate my birthday; I usually use my birthday to give a gift to my fans such as releasing a song.  I have special things in mind for my big day.

 

  • Do you play sport? When did you start and why did you stop?

No, I don’t have the time.  I enjoy exercising more.

I played a lot of sport when I was in High School.  I played Rugby, Swimming, Water Polo, Basketball, Athletics; I was very much into everything.  I was involved in all extra curricula activities like Toast Masters, Debate, Interact, Drama, Music.  However, my heart was always in entertainment, the moment I left school I simply ditched all the sports stuff and focused on how I was going to get myself on stage for the rest of my life.

  • Any team sport you support?

I never used to watch sport I never used to support a team until I fell in love with Barcelona !! I love everything about that club (I wish it had never happened), they take me high and they take me low…I don’t watch every game though; I will probably just wake up to check the results or watch from twitter.  I will try to watch the Champions League or El Clasico but I try not to let it get out of hand but I love me some Barcelona!

  • What is your take on the youths not respecting their elders?

I believe that what is construed as the youth not respecting their elders is quite generally the natural progression of life.  We come into this world as a broom (clean broom), to renew our values, to continually push the boundaries, to reassess ourselves.  It is the kind of task that is best fitted and suited for the youth.  When you have been on this planet you are set in your ways and not so open to change and not open for innovation and change.  We are all meant to learn from each other; the old from the young and the young from the old and everything in between.  If you go back in time you will hear people saying “Oh but when we were growing up…” It is not supposed to be the same as it was for you because times change and people evolve.

  • What advice would you give to kids who look up to you as their inspiration?

Don’t look up to me, look beyond me.  If I can do anything to inspire you that means you should tell yourself you want to be bigger and better than me.  When people see when things that people say cannot be done being done it expands and opens up the realms of possibility.  Now if some kid somewhere says I want to grow up and be a rapper and if someone objects they can point out and say but this person did it and that means I can do it too!


Things You Probably Didn’t Know About Tehn Diamond

  1. He went to Saint Georges College
  2. He is releasing his debut solo this year titled The Perfect Tehn.
  3. When he left school his plan was to get into Theatre or Movies.
  4. His three loves are acting, singing and rapping in that order.
  5. He doesn’t own a TV; he doesn’t want to be enslaved to it.
  6. He loves hanging out with his little brother and teaching him new things.
  7. He loves to read.
  8. His favourite movie of all time is The Matrix.

It was close to a year ago when he asked me to be a part of the bloggers on his website but back then I had too much on my plate and I could not take part.  Funny how a year later I am interviewing him for my own blog…

Many thanks goes to Tehn Diamond for taking some time out of his busy schedule to meet up for this interview.  You have a great personality and you are very well spoken, no wonder you want to spend your life on stage.  I wish you nothing but the best in 2015 and the year to come.  I will definitely be around for your birthday party next weekend!

MaKupsy

Leave a Reply

