Day 14 – I Always Take The Stairs

I have worked at my current job for the past 3 years and in all the 3 years I have been here I ALWAYS take the stairs.  I have to go up 4 flights of stairs before getting to my office floor.  I have had exceptions where I have used the elevator like on times when I have been too sick to use the stairs which has been probably twice.  I remember the one time I decided to use the stairs because my heels were killing me and the security guard asked me if everything was okay?  He’s got jokes right?!

Everyone in the building knows me as the “stairs lady”; good or bad thing?  I say very good thing because I seem to have encouraged a few people to start taking the stairs over the years.  Even when I visit friends or run errands I make sure I use the stairs.  I had a friend who used to work on the 12th floor and I only visited her less than five times because the thought of taking the stairs was horrific!

download (9)
photo taken from https://www.pinterest.com

Part of the reason why I use the stairs is because I am scared of being stuck in the elevator because the one at our workplace always jams people in there.  At least once a week someone or a group of people get stuck in the elevator, I am not taking any chances!  I don’t do well with closed spaces and chances of getting into a panic attack are too real so no;  I won’t be using an elevator anytime soon.

The main reason(s) I take the stairs is because I once read somewhere that it burns a lot of calories, it’s also good for your heart (I don’t know how exactly but it just is) and because my line of work has me seated throughout the day some form of exercise will do my muscles a lot of good.  I am all for doing everything in my power to stay healthy and to liver a little longer so during the day stairs are my go to place.

When was the last time you took the stairs?  I dare you to use the stairs everywhere you go just for one week and let me know if you still opt for the elevator.

MaKupsy

Leave a Reply

