Day 20 – Comparison Will Steal Your Joy

CPCNsmKUwAA01ia
when i grow up i want to dress up like that and look fabulous and ready to take on the world! photo credit @MAKOSI

I follow Makosi on Instagram for inspirational purposes because I am addicted to living a healthy lifestyle.  She posts photos of her runs, yoga, church service messages, outfit of the day you name it but mostly her workout and that’s why I can never get enough of her.  The other day she posted the above photo with a caption that read;

“Comparison is the thief of joy, Love your life. Focus on the positives and realise that everyone puts their best foot forward on social media…”

She could not have said it any better.  I am very guilty of going through Instagram and wowing and liking photos at the same time wishing I had a body, a house, a relationship, shoes, a smile, you name it that I would have seen while scrolling through different accounts.  By the time I am through with all that trust me most times I am left feeling miserable and questioning why my life isn’t as fabulous as everyone else’s.  But the truth of the matter is people rarely ever showcase the troubles they are going through.  They make sure that you see the positive aspects and that’s not a bad thing really, what is bad is wishing your life was like that without actually realising yours is just as fabulous the way it is.  There is nothing wrong with wanting the finer things in life but we should not make what we see on the internet deceive us because there is clearly more to it than what meets the eye.

This week I promise to start off my week on a positive note and stop comparing my life to people that I don’t even know and be easy on myself.  This life is too short to not celebrate the goodness happening in your own life.

Have a lovely Sunday and a smashing week ahead and never forget how great your life is; it could be worse but here you are living it to the fullest!

MaKupsy

2 thoughts on “Day 20 – Comparison Will Steal Your Joy

  1. Great post. You’re so smart with topics such as this. The first step is “awareness” when advancing in life. Comparison is a sure root of bad feelings to come, all while it makes no logical sense to do so. Just a normal human condition that few ever realize or escape from

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for reading 🙂
      You have no idea how much comparison used to give me unnecessary grief! But now I know better, people always show you the positive side and if you ever found out their negative side you will probably realise your own life is way better than theirs.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

