I’m Pregnant!

The year was 2011.  The month was January.  The monthly period was late by 10 whole days.  The mood was panicking the fuck outta my brains!  You see, I didn’t get my period the whole of November 2010 and then in December 2010 I had a 10 day period, something that had never happened to me before.  In my head I didn’t think much of it because I was like seeing that I missed a month maybe mother nature is doing a payback on me.  Well, she clearly wasn’t joking about procreation because when my sister and I took close to 5 pregnancy tests on the 16th of January 2011 it was official, I was pregnant!

Pregnancy-test-positive-pictures-9.jpg

In all honesty I don’t even know why I was shocked, the amount of sex we had been having with, let’s call him Peak for now, was insane!  Like we just couldn’t get our hands off each other and the relationship was still in a honeymoon phase and everything was going smoothly.  I have realised that I don’t seem to fall in love with people, for me love comes slowly and when it does I am so screwed.  I grew to love Peak and once I was madly in that phase he got my 110% love and affection.  That’s another story for another day.  However, it will be a story I would like Kupsy to read when she wants to know how I met her father.

Anyways, back to panic mode.  I really was pregnant, I didn’t know how to react when I first got the news.  I remember picking up the phone to tell Peak that I had to see him that day because he was out of town that weekend but he promised he would come through.  He did and when I saw him I showed him the pregnancy test.  I remember him holding me close and telling me that everything was going to be okay.  Definitely not the reaction I was expecting considering the many stories that I had heard other women tell me about how a guy can just vanish into thin air after you told him you had missed your period.  I on the other hand didn’t take the news lightly.

It was only after I had seen him and told him that I started to react to the news.  I have never cried so much in my life.  I cried buckets that day and I was uncontrollable he didn’t even know what to do.  Why was I crying?  I wasn’t ready to be a mother, I had so many things I wanted to do before that big step, I didn’t think I was going to get pregnant because well, we actually thought the withdrawal (pull out) method was a sure way to avoid getting pregnant.  BIGGEST JOKE EVER!  Why wasn’t I on any form of contraceptive?  Well, just before Christmas we had actually agreed that I needed to get onto something because we didn’t want to risk me falling pregnant but here we were…

I went to the General Practitioner the  following Monday who then referred me to a Gynecologist and set up all the appointments and medical tests I needed to go through in preparation for my 9 month pregnancy journey.  The weirdest thing about all this was that it was only after the results confirmed that I was really pregnant that I started getting pregnancy symptoms.  You can read all about my pregnancy over here.

Do you remember what you went through when you first found out you were pregnant, care to share?

 

A moment in my belly, a lifetime in my heart.

MaKupsy

15 thoughts on “I’m Pregnant!

  1. OMW!! I will never forget mine. I was in denial for a good week! Like you, I had some symptoms after taking the test but didn’t start showing til I was 4months. It was scary and I just wanted to be alone and sink into my own worries of the disappointment in my mom’s eyes

    Liked by 1 person

    • LOL a whole week? I bet you thought if you just ignored it it would go away. I know how you felt though, the first thing you think of is what will my mother say or think. It’s tough being a woman.
      Thank you for reading and I am sure the experience taught you to be more cautious the next time you got into a sexual relationship.

      Like

      • We didn’t know she was pregnant but she got so depressed we were all worried. One night my grandmother called and my mother shared with her how worried we are about my sister. My gran demanded to speak to her on the phone and when she did my sister just broke down. We heard the deepest loudest black cry ever.

        We were all so confused but she asked to tell me first in the room and I really wasn’t keen because I didn’t know what to expect but pregnancy never even crossed my mind.

        I couldn’t believe it when she told me, We stayed in the room for the longest time because I was also scared of telling my mother.

        But eventually we did, it was bad but when my nephew was born we saw a side to her that I had never seen before, a softer side, a more patient side, a self sacrificing side. He has changed our lives immensely ♡

        Liked by 2 people

      • Awww I can’t even imagine what she was going through, maybe just partially but not completely. Look at the bright side though, you got to see a softer and more gentle side of her after the experience.

        Like

  2. It was in 2004 and i was just starting my second year of nursing school. Ndakachema veduwe! I had a practical assessment that same day so I had to do it with a puffy face. The assessor kept asking me if i was okay and I’d tear up every time. He thought i was scared of the assessment izvo ndaitya kuti mhamha vachati chii because mukadzi waipenga hake iyeye 😂😂😂😂😂😂😂. Anyway, BF was quite supportive but still i cried for about a week or so!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Goodness me, a whole week!! Sha it seems like the first person everyone thinks of is mum and what she is going to say. Thankfully when I told my mum she was calm about it but haaa that didn’t stop me from crying buckets.
      I am happy your boyfriend was supportive, most aren’t.
      Thanks for reading and sharing your story. 🙂

      Like

  3. Pingback: Key Benefits of Sleeping – Fitness BaeZW

Leave a Reply

