WhatsApp Addiction

I used to have my phone on me 24/7 even took a bath while i was starring at it!  I would attempt to prepare a meal and most of the times I burnt the food because all my attention was on my phone.  Housework, well, it took me double the time to finish doing it because the number of breaks to check out new messages slowed everything down.  I would sleep late night and wake up feeling all groggy all in the name of wanting to chat.  The work front was worse, countless times my manager would walk in on me and I would be chatting away and that did not look good on my work image, AT ALL.  Talk about not wanting to miss out on what’s happening around you or rather on the latest gossip!  This whole WhatsApp phase has got people hooked and most people don’t even realise it.  I’m not saying that it’s a bad thing but if your whole life centres around your phone and the moment you run out of credit or your battery dies out on you you feel like the world will come to an end then there is definitely a problem there!images

The worst thing about having someone to talk to at the tip of your finger is that when you are going through something you just blurt it out.  Mainly because someone is online and ready to talk you find yourself pouring out your emotions to them and half the time they are not even interested but they would like to tell the rest of the world about your problems; and you don’t even realise it.  It was easier when you had to make a call or meet up with a friend to tell them what you were going through now you just type away and who knows, someone might screenshot your conversation and share it with a whole bunch of people who don’t even care about you…Technology is a funny thing.

I had to work on my addiction with baby steps.  Started leaving my phone behind when I went to work and then attended to it from the moment I got home to bedtime.  I wrote things down in my notepad for reminders and important things I had to do that day all in a bid to not rely on my phone too much.  It wasn’t easy considering I used to walk to work and text at the same time for fear of missing out on something that might pop up on my phone screen.  Just imagine the chances of being run over by a car because I wasn’t focusing on actually walking to work and getting there in one piece.

Don’t get me wrong, social media is not a bad thing, but for me, I now prefer it in small doses because if all my focus is on my phone chances are I will miss the priceless moments.  I won’t even notice that it’s a bright and sunny day because my eyes keep darting through my phone.  Now I use my WhatsApp as and when necessary, it is no longer a life threatening issue if I don’t have my phone… life goes on.  It is actually more peaceful for me.  Actually, the reason I am still on it is to communicate with my mum so that she can send me my daughter’s photos, videos and voice notes.   If it wasn’t for her I would have since left because the addiction was unbecoming.

MaKupsy

20 thoughts on “WhatsApp Addiction

  1. I took a break from social media for about 2 years. Deleted all my accounts and the only online world I had was my Gmail account. It was extreme…but I had gotten to a point I needed the extreme. I got back into Facebook early last year, then Twitter and Whatsapp followed soon after. I am doing it all in moderation now. Knowing that when it gets too much…I can cut it off again!

    Congratulations on dealing with this addiction.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wow !! You were really on that “Go big or go home” tip. Sometimes we need that break because we end up getting too consumed with it and forget to enjoy the real world. I love Twitter too much to leave it for a whole 2 years. Maybe a month or two at most.
      Thank you for reading and I hope you are having a fabulous Friday so far. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. For me it’s Twitter mostly that I can’t seem to let go of. I literally spend half my day refreshing the TL to check out what’s new. I’m not big on WhatsApp and the rest of them and only just use them if I need to speak to my parents or something important comes through and needs urgent response.
    Great piece on social media addiction………I don’t think my Twitter one will be ending soon though. How I wish 😦

    Like

    • I think the reason why we can’t let go of Twitter is because it has on the second information update. You get everything on that platform from world news, gossip, trending topics the works so letting go of it is like deciding to stay on an island and not know a single thing that’s going on around you.
      Thanks for reading Feli and I think we should just have a Twitter Addicts Anonymous something. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. The same goes for facebook and twitter. I made a bold decision to quit facebook 1 january 2014 and twitter 1 January 2016.

    So far so good
    Why worry. We are 2 hours ahead of London right?

    Like

Leave a Reply

