Victoria 22 Restaurant

20160426_190002.jpg

Last night was beautiful.  How I wish it could be my birthday all over again!  Before going for our actual dinner date we decided to pass through Bojangles for a quick drink.  I opted for a Passion Thyme Mocktail which was actually not so bad, next week I will give it another try when I am nicely settled and not rushing for dinner reservations.  I actually had no clue where we were going to have my birthday celebrations, all I was instructed to do was to doll up.

Why didn’t anyone tell me how plush Victoria 22 Restaurant was???  Oh my word!  It is absolutely gorgeous.  Where do I even begin?  If you have read some of my Restaurant Reviews you know that I am really honest about my experiences and do not leave a stone unturned.

20160426_191008.jpg

The staff are friendly and very welcoming.  They give you that “feel at home feeling” the moment they greet you at the entrance.

Given the current weather setup in Harare I was happy to note that they had their heating system sorted out.  I am still trying to figure out the name but it’s there in the picture below so if you know it please educate a sister. Colleen came to my rescue, she says they are called Patio Heaters, see you learn something new everyday.  Our table was outside so we got to see part of the beautifully lit garden and swimming pool (remind me to take my bathing suit next time).

veranda-at-victoria-22.jpg

They didn’t have red wine so I opted for dry white wine.  It was actually okaish but I won’t be trying it again anytime soon.  We were served with who knows what, all I recognised in there was the carrots. LOL. All the same it was delicious and it made a great combination with the wine.

20160426_193555.jpg

They really go all out when it comes to sprucing up the place.  All the candle stands, lamps, comfortable chairs, interior decor, the powder room, absolutely amazing!  Did I tell you the powder room is so clean you can actually eat from in there?  I don’t remember the last time I dined out and I was okay with that department.

 

The menu was completely foreign to me.  I couldn’t even pronounce half in not all the things on it.  This is a sign that I need to dine out more because clearly I need to just waltz in a restaurant and know exactly what I want; but then again where is the fun in that?  We all need new experiences right?  The waiter came through and told us about the specials for day.  From the soups, to the starters to the main course and desserts.  He also told us what was not available for the day.  I found that very useful because it at least makes it easier for you to navigate through the menu knowing what is and isn’t there.  We didn’t opt for all those though because we just wanted to get to the main meal.  I know myself too well, if I go on to have a three course meal chances are by the time I get to my main meal I will be too full to actually enjoy it so we plunged straight in.

20160426_192227.jpg

I chose Maiale allo Lenzero e Vino Porto.  (Pork Fillet wrapped in Bacon Sauteed in Ginger, Garlic, Sweet Chilli Soya Sauce complimented with a Port Wine Reduction served on a Bed of Parmesan Cheese Parsley Mashed Potatoes).  WHAT A MOUTHFUL!  A mouth watering mouthful too because I enjoyed every bite of it.  The portion looked small but I was actually surprised that I couldn’t finish all of it.  I guess my eyes were way bigger than my stomach after all.  I wanted to to have dessert but there is always next time because I was going to end up throwing up if I had anymore food.

9dbc0070-cdb1-468c-a8fd-21adb497d06f.jpg

The one thing that was really outstanding for me was that we didn’t have to wait forever and a day to be served, the food was prepared in just under 30 minutes.  Also…the waiters kept refilling my wine glass and serving us with olive bread slices, cheese bread slices of sorts so that kept us distracted and that’s actually very clever of them.

To sum it all up, Victoria 22 is a beautiful place. I would recommend anyone to go there especially on their birthday, you won’t be disappointed.

  • Great food
  • Great music selection
  • Great decor
  • Great staff
  • Great service
  • Eye catching colours on your plate.

I rate this place a cool 10/10 and I can’t wait to go back again.  It was truly a breath taking experience.

MaKupsy

 

 

5 thoughts on “Victoria 22 Restaurant

  1. […] I have been to a handful of restaurants so far but this year I have to admit that Victoria 22 took my breath away.  I went there for my birthday and I was absolutely wowed.  Yes, I blogged about it, that’s one of the things I enjoy on my blog, writing about Restaurant Reviews.  The link for the Victoria 22 experience is here. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

