Poor Customer Service

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Customer service is the provision of service to customers before, during and after a purchase. According to Turban et al. (2002),[1] “Customer service is a series of activities designed to enhance the level of customer satisfaction – that is, the feeling that a product or service has met the customer expectation.”

This post is dedicated to ranting about the crappy customer service I have and continue to receive from organisations who gladly take my money but simply won’t take care of my simple needs!

It’s either I am very unfortunate or the organisations I visit have people with major issues where customer service delivery is concerned.  I can count the number of times I have received quality customer service.  I think the ONLY time this year I was happy with a service was when I lost my cell phone and replaced my sim card,  it was an over the counter process and within minutes I was back online.  Sadly that was a short lived experience because when i got home I realised that my phone wasn’t going on the internet.  I tried calling the service provider on their toll free number and was kept on hold for close to 10 minutes at a time and I tried three times and eventually gave up.  I had to end up taking a trip to my friend’s house to ask if he knew how to get the settings configured and he ended up doing it for me.  So much for the toll free number for customer’s right?  Ideally I would have just gone to the service provider’s office but the queues there are nothing to look forward to.  Why do I still tolerate their shoddy service?  Well, I bought the phone line close to 10 years ago and at the time it was going for a whole USD100 and that meant me saving my pocket money for months before I could actually buy myself a line.  So as you can possibly imagine it isn’t that easy to let go off.  All the same, their customer service delivery is still crappy, they don’t pick up their toll free number, your airtime just disappears into thin air, you get nothing for being a loyal customer despite the fact that there are two other service providers and they simply won’t stop sending you messages about their products, like what the heck!

Have you been to the bank or the supermarket during lunch break?  Have you seen the long queues that they have at that time of day?  It doesn’t make sense to me.  They know that people would have left the office to run errands and grab a bite and are clearly short on time but they have a handful of till operator’s at the most crucial time of day? WHYYYYYYY???

Then there is cable television. When they have your money they take their sweet time to get you reconnected but when their money is due they are fast and efficient to cut you off at the drop of a hat!  I am talking sometime before 8am cut you off and they are not even shy about it.  How does that even work?    Pathetic service if you ask me!  What really gets to me is the number of times they will repeat a movie or programme, like did I really pay my hard earned money to watch the same thing over and over again?  They need to seriously do something about that because money is not easy to come by and I can’t be wasting it on repeat programmes.  They also desperately need competition because I would like to believe that is the other reason they treat customers the way they do. They too should pick up their damn toll free numbers!

candidate-1048868-2014-05-16-07-39-53.jpeg

The last one is this woman who works by the place where I go to buy my water.  She is always in some foul mood each and every time I go there.  I am starting to wonder that she might actually not like me.  Either that or she is simply an unpleasant person.  She does not smile, she doesn’t greet you and she can just walk out on you and decide to go on a lunch break.  Trust me I have asked her before, even greeted her but I still get her stinky attitude.  So why is she coming to work then if she wants to be carrying her mood swings to work?

You know why I am all worked up about this customer care thing?  It is mainly because I deal with customers myself every single day and I have a policy where I tell myself that I leave all my troubles by the door once I get to work.  I make sure I am polite and helpful to everyone who walks through the door and make sure they leave with a good impression of our company.  No matter how terrible my day is or what personal issues I am facing I put my best foot forward and deliver quality service. I am the face and voice of the company so there is no way I am going to risk my job with a bad attitude because the idea is to keep the customers coming back. So my biggest question is what the heck is everyone else’s problem??

Why can’t you just be helpful and leave a good impression of yourself and your organisation for a change?  It really is upsetting, how people act like they are doing you a favour when it is actually their job to be helping you and mind you most times it’s not a free service, you are a paying customer but get shitty service!  I am one very unsatisfied customer and I hope at some point I will get value for my money and some brilliant customer service.  You would think competition would have service providers on their toes but clearly they don’t give a hoot about us.

Have you received bad customer service at any point?

Did they look into the complaints you put forward?

Have you changed a service provider because of poor service delivery?

I would like to hear from you.

MaKupsy

7 thoughts on “Poor Customer Service

    • Well “if you don’t get paid enough to fake a smile” by all means quit your job and stay at home and let the ones who actually NEED the job take your place. Its really annoying, you would think someone will lose a tooth or something if they smiled.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

