Licking Ass!

I am on my third book on the Reading Challenge I set myself up for this year.  I am reading a book by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichi titled Americanah.  By the way she is a brilliant writer!  There’s a paragraph that caught my attention that reads:

“You know we live in an ass-licking economy.  The biggest problem in this country is not corruption.  The problem is that there are many qualified people who are not where they are supposed to be because they won’t lick anybody’s ass, or they don’t know which ass to lick, or they don’t even know how to lick an ass.  I’m lucky to be licking the right ass.”

I am one of those people who DO NOT LICK ASS both figuratively or literally!  I was simply not made up like that.  This post has nothing to do with the book I am currently reading but that particular paragraph just reminded me that I will not go above and beyond to get someone to do what they do not want to do.  I am that person who will ask you for something once or maybe twice the most but after that, that’s it.  I always ask myself WHY I have to beg someone for something especially given the fact that their display of wanting to be constantly nagged already shows a sign that they have issues.  Stay away from people with unresolved issues.  They will make you their little slave.

20151223_160004.jpg

 

I have no intentions on wasting my time and energy into convincing someone otherwise.  I tried that a few years ago when all I wanted to do was get married but guess what?  It taught me that no amount of licking ass will make someone change their mind about how they choose to treat you or how they feel about you. Just be yourself and if you are anything like me say no to bullshit because the moment you accept it people will just walk all over you and expect you to lick their ass as if it comes with fresh cream (and fresh cream doesn’t even taste nice either!)

 

©MaKupsy 2016

5 thoughts on “Licking Ass!

  1. Wouldn’t have said any better and sooo totally agree with you.. I’m perceived as someone anovhaira just coz i don’t lick nobody’s ass buh guess wa? That being said, I’m a great achiever, (proud and grateful) w/out licking a lot of people’s asses buh only rely on the Father above.. Or maybe been lucky to lick the few right ones like you said.. Ye if I ask once or maybe twice if “they” are lucky then dats it.. Don’t think I’ll ever keep begging coz i know God gat me covered. I’ve learnt to tell myself that by me licking someone’s ass is clearly not trusting God but merely a human ability.. Thank you for making me not feel insanely alone Mercy.. Great article hun xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Awww thanks for reading Amanda 🙂
      I like what you said and I am going to remind myself that every single time i think of licking someone’s ass “Don’t think I’ll ever keep begging coz i know God gat me covered.” It’s true, if you just put everything before Him you have nothing to stress about.

      Like

Leave a Reply

