The Bottom Drawer

The Bottom Drawer is a beautiful restaurant situated in Harare.

Good morning my darlings.  I hope you had a weekend that was as lovely as mine.  I have a new found hobby which is non alcohol related and I think it’s blending pretty well with my blogging.  Restaurant Reviews.  I have not being eating out as often lately but I have decided I should do it more often and get my fellow food lovers to have a go to place when they want to know where all the great food and good deals are.  So here goes…

20160910_140759.jpg

I had to make a prior booking so that I could have a table reserved.  Thanks to Google Maps it was easy to locate the restaurant and within 5 minutes we had arrived.  As you walk in you are welcomed by plush lawns, garden chairs and a nice cool flowery breeze.  The restaurant is a double storey house that they turned into an eat out place.

img-20160910-wa0067

We got to The Bottom Drawer an hour later than our reserved time but thankfully our table was still available.  Unfortunately there was no one to welcome us so we had to navigate our way around the place.  Once we decided on a table which was close to the swimming pool, obviously!  We sat down and I was happy to note that they had the menu already available by the table.

20160910_141145.jpg

A waitress came through to take our orders and I was dying for a hot beverage and ordered a cappuccino.  It was served in just under 10 minutes and yes I was watching the time just for interests sake.

Screenshot_2016-09-10-22-31-04.png

The Bottom Drawer menu had a variety of what sounded like light meals and my agenda was to eat something filling so I asked the waitress to recommend something she thought we might like.  She suggested we try the pies and I was not convinced one bit because when I read “Chicken & Mushroom pie” in my head I pictured the pies and Bakers Inn or Pick n Pay and I was not about to sit down and eat that on a lunch do!  She insisted we try it and so we ordered away and waited.

20160910_142220.jpg

If you read my restaurant review blogs you will know that I am very particular about colours in my plate.  They outdid themselves on this presentation and I promise you whatever the name of the salad dressing they use, I HAVE TO HAVE IT!  The salad was divine!  I am convinced they grow these greens themselves because they were really fresh. The pie; the pie was out of this world.  It wasn’t the one you find in the supermarket.  This one was freshly baked and the chicken and mushroom was cooked to perfection.  I don’t remember the last time I had an eat out meal that left me completely stuffed in a good way.  When you see the little bowl they put the meat in you think that looks tiny I can finish it in a few mouthfuls, do not be deceived, you won’t finish it!

20160910_142539.jpg

I am actually feeling hungry all over again just looking at the photos I am uploading.  I have no idea why I didn’t ask for a doggy bag because I left a lot of chicken and mushroom in that bowl, it could have made a delicious left over meal.

I have to give it to The Bottom Drawer, they know their stuff!  The food was delicious, the service was efficient, the waitress was friendly, next time I go I should be sure to get her name, it was real value for your money for a cool $13 a plate.  You know I am always complaining about how I feel shortchanged after an eat out experience, well this one was worth every dollar.  I think News Cafe Fife Avenue should take notes and learn a thing or two from them.  I am still not over the experience I had there.

That said; I would recommend anyone to give The Bottom Drawer a try I promise you won’t regret it.  Take your friend, family, lover(s) and you will enjoy every moment of it.  If you take your kids there is a play area and a whole garden to explore.  The restaurant has this homey atmosphere that will definitely have you wanting to go back for another experience.

Have you tried this restaurant before?  If yes, what was your experience like?  Are there any other restaurants you have been to that you would highly recommend to someone.

Follow my food board on Pinterest I promise you this board inspires me to want to leave the house and hunt for a restaurant that serves that type of food!

©MaKupsy2016

Leave a Reply

