Love The Skin You’re In – Exclusive Interview

Hi, my name is MaKupsy and I am a social media stalker!  I know I am not alone here but I can defend myself and tell you that I am on the “lite version” of stalking.  Meaning…I only stalk the interesting people on my timeline.  I bumped into this voluptuous woman on my Instagram feed and I was completely breath taken, like WOW!  I have been following her for a while now and just the other day I thought we should do an interview together and this is how it went.

37aa8c1b-bdb5-4926-a91a-d24f7d63d119.jpg

What is your name and where are you from?

My name is Mercy.  I am 22, born in Zimbabwe but I am currently living in the United Kingdom. I work as a model and brand ambassador for korrineskyintimates.co.uk

What inspired you to be a lingerie model?

Never in my wildest dreams would I have thought of modelling lingerie!  However, when the idea was proposed to me and I wore the lingerie for the first time, I took a moment to recognise and appreciate my uniqueness. It gave me an opportunity to reflect on the aspects of my body that at some point had made feel insecure. I have accepted all my flaws that I had previously struggled with growing up and have evolved into someone who is truly body positive.

How old were you when you started your career?

It all began about 3 years ago when my sister had an online clothing boutique. For promotional purposes we used to take our own pictures in the middle of the street and post them on social media. To our own surprise we had a great reception and that is when I discovered my glow in front of the camera.

Please share some of the challenges that come with the job?

When I first started I personally thought the physical expectations placed on models were often extreme. That I think was one of my worst fears.  Women face intense physical scrutiny and the pressure to measure up to standards that are often impossible. It made me realise that whether you are a model or not every woman has flaws and I had to learn to embrace mine.

72a3cfcd-b4b2-44ac-8e4f-d07b9897c60e.jpg

Are your family and friends supportive of your career?

My family is very supportive of my career, if not for them I probably would not be doing what I do with such confidence and pride. Most of my work is for Korrine Sky Intimates that is our brand and family business so the aim is to work hard and represent our brand well.

How do you deal with negative criticism?

In everything you do I think you should always leave a little room for criticism, not everybody will be a fan of your work and if you can hold your head up high and are proud of what you do that is all that matters.

On the other hand we are all human, If I said that the comments of nay sayers do not sometimes affect me I would be lying. One example I can share, I did a short film for Korrine Sky Intimates first year anniversary and someone made a snarky remark about the shape of my head. Now for me to let that not affect me I reminded myself that the shape of my head is something I cannot change. The trick to all of this is I only allow myself to feel it for a split second realise why I am doing this brush myself off and its back to business

What do you love the most about your job?

The best thing about my job is that I am doing something that I enjoy and love, I think that it is very important because most people are not as lucky in life to be able to live their passion.

Funny enough I used to avoid having my pictures taken when I was younger, since I discovered that I can serve body and face I have never looked back since. I get a lot of room to be creative and experiment with my body shape size and looks nothing can beat that.

Any wise words to share for those who would one day want to be models as well?

I cannot emphasise enough to women how important it is; if you decide to embark on this journey as a model the first and most important thing is to be comfortable in your own skin. Confidence is like a smell it follows you everywhere you go. One thing my mama has taught me is that there is nothing more sexy and liberating than a woman who oozes confidence knows exactly what she wants, sets goals and achieves them!

You can find Mercy on these Social Media Networks:

INSTAGRAM  @mercydiosa

SNAPCHAT  @Chynageisha

TWITTER  @Mercydiosa1

WEBSITE mercydiosa.com

7ce2a985-5b74-4057-8173-dc7e904e2170.jpg

©MaKupsy 2016

 

7 thoughts on “Love The Skin You’re In – Exclusive Interview

Leave a Reply

