Let Your Body Do The Yoga!

Never underestimate the power of a Monday morning workout!  I hope you did some form of exercise this morning because trust me, it will determine the rest of your workout week.  This year my agenda is to feature a fitness interview on my blog every month and the first one happens to be Yoga related.  I took some time out yesterday afternoon and got to talk to one who also goes by the name “Fitness Duchess” in the #RunWithFitnessBae WhatsApp group and this is what she shared with me.

unnamed (3).jpg

 

What is your name, your age and where you are from?

My name is Margaret Sandra Munthali.  I am 26 years old and I am from Blantyre, Malawi.

What inspired you to start doing Yoga and why Yoga?

My childhood best friend and I felt like doing something different for hanging out. Something healthy. We agreed upon Yoga. It was just about trying something new. A great way to spend the afternoon. We got our inspiration from Pinterest and Instagram.  We started off with Acroyoga actually.  There was no specific reason as to why we picked Yoga. We didn’t know it much at the time; but after our first session we felt SOOOO  good and got hooked.

0383ef38-ff46-4017-8246-00c480882d73.jpg

Do you do any other forms of exercise?

Yes I do other forms of exercise.  I run here and there. As of December 2016 I’ve been inspired to skip. So I am currently on a skipping challenge.  I also do random workouts on the app Nike Training App.  One day,  I’d love to do Cross Fit activities.

What are some of the benefits of Yoga?

There are so many benefits of Yoga. The physical ones include better posture,  increased core strength,  toned muscles, increased flexibility, pain and stress relief,  weight management and improved breathing. However, I discovered some other benefits too,  it is a great stress reliever!

I found that it taught me some great life lessons. Life is a  journey,  creating small goals is essential for happiness. In Yoga, a pose was a journey,  I would celebrate each improvement or step towards being able to get the pose. I found myself constantly motivated and happy. I apply that to life as well. The journey is just as important as the end goal. Another feeling I can’t really describe is the feeling you get after a great session. A sense of peace. Amaze balls!! It also helped me focus and helped me practice the skill of blocking things out and being able to be present.

unnamed (1).jpg

What would you advise someone who wants to try out Yoga?

Practice, practice, practice. I can’t emphasise this enough. The more you do it the better you get. When you stop you reverse the effects slowly. The Internet is your friend. There is tonnes and tonnes of inspiration on the Internet.  A lot of amazing people doing amazing things. There are many variations of yoga too. Research and choose what suits you. There are different types of yoga too. Personally I enjoy the Hatha Yoga  and Ashtanga types; sometimes Vinyasa too. I would love to try some Iyengar  which is the yoga practice that uses props like straps and blocks and some  Birkam also known as Hot Yoga. (Feel free to search for these Yoga variations on the Internet). My advise is find a partner to do it with. I think that was what helped me to stay on track. When I am practicing alone. It’s okay but not as fun.

Where do you do your yoga and what equipment do you need?

I do my Yoga at home mostly and at places with beautiful backgrounds if the aim is a pose and a picture. In most cases you just need a mat. However, if you wanna try Iyanger  then you will need blocks and straps (or a scarf).

I have noticed your  #RunWithFitnessBae hashtags, what got you to join the group?

I decided to join because I had fallen off the wagon. I had not really exercised in a long time. I was feeling lazy and uninspired.  Body size was not the problem. I was actually weighing less than I had in a long time. But for someone who loves fitness I was feeling very unhealthy. I saw Umba’s post on Instagram and sent a message to Fitness Bae that I want in and it was the best decision I’ve ever made. Not only did I find my inspiration back,  I get daily motivation and a six pack doesn’t seem like an impossible dream anymore

unnamed (5).jpg

Anything you would like to share with anyone who is making excuses to start on working out?

Working out is not just about weight loss.  I cannot stress this enough. You can be in love with the size of your body but you still need to work out. I read somewhere that working out decreases the chance of getting breast cancer by 25%.  Working out also decreases the chance of getting many diseases. It boosts confidence and it’s great therapy.  You don’t have to go out and run 50 kilometres today, just make small exercise improvements everyday and make the habit a part of your life.

Where can people reach you on social media?

Pinterest

Instagram

Twitter

Facebook

unnamed (6).jpg

Since I started doing Yoga,  I have noticed that I celebrate the small things.   I am more in love with my body and I have more confidence in what my body can do.

©MaKupsy 2017

 

8 thoughts on “Let Your Body Do The Yoga!

  1. I love this idea of an interview every month and I will campaign hard to be featured in my birthday month – also, this is because I have certain goals I am striving to hit by April so yes please, I nominate myself 🙂

    Back to the article, I loved reading this, especially for the fact that her Yoga is self-taught and was born out of seeking new experiences! I admire and respect people with an edge for adventure to enhance their experiences so this definitely resonated and made me smile. I’m a Yoga beginner as well, the classes are free at my gym but that’s not the only reason, I also want that vanity pic by the beach doing a kuzvongonyonga pose like that! I’m still not flexible but looking forward to the health benefits!

    P/S Add me on that damn fitness group before I call discrimination and hate on you haha

    Liked by 1 person

    • I read this and I knew that at some point I was going to burst into laughter at some point because you always throw in some sense of humor. Worry not, you will get to the “kuzvongonyoka pose” sooner rather than later.
      I think the best thing that can ever happen to someone is teaching yourself something and actually acing it. We live in a time where Youtube tutorials are at the click of a button and if people aren’t utilising the time to advance one of their interests then I have no idea what they are doing.
      How many times do you do your Yoga classes and how many minutes are each session?
      Tell you what, do what you have to do and come April I will make sure I feature you on the blog.
      About the group, send me a message on Twitter with your current WhatsApp number and I will add you right away.

      Like

  2. Dear Makupsy,
    Greetings from Vermont, USA. I love your emphasis of having fun doing yoga outdoors with friends. A naturalistic American writer named Henry David Thoreau once said, “All good things are wild and free.” I hope you find that ‘wild freedom’ where ever your practice takes you. I look forward to reading about it in your future posts!
    Namaste,
    Bryan

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for reading Bryan. I recently started doing Yoga and it has been a great month so far, I hope to keep it in my exercise schedule so that I get to experience all forms of it. Thank you for the follow, I look forward to reading your posts as well.

      Namaste,

      MaKupsy

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

