Unplugged Magic: Love. Live. Music.

The first time I went for UnPlugged it was sometime last year on a cold winter evening.  I was covered in tights, boots, scarf, dress and a jacket.  The only thing that was missing in that outfit was a hat.  Unfortunately for me I decided to wear stiletto heeled boots(big mistake!) and the whole evening my boots were sinking into the lawn, I was annoyed!  I promised myself that the next UnPlugged event I attend will be in the afternoon; that way I would enjoy the warm sun and great outdoors.  I lead a busy life and most weekends when UnPlugged is happening I am almost always out of town but not this past Saturday, this time I was ready for it and I was going to be the first one at the gate!

Okay, so I was not the first one at the gate but I was there about an hour after the event started.  After a few hellos to familiar faces my first stop was the Kids Corner they call Artsy Crafty.  I couldn’t help it, all that colour and laughter drew my attention, these children were having too much fun, I wanted in as well but well, the jumping castle is not for adults; even if you feel 16 on the inside.  LOL.  What I loved about this area is that you get to bring your children along to this family friendly chill out session.  I am a parent and I know how it can really get hectic when I need to attend an event and there is no one to baby sit for me.  This idea they have is genius because when you bring your children along you know that someone will be watching over them and keeping them entertained with interactive activities while you have that well deserved glass of wine.

28b8a924-245d-4195-9874-255f9f737d1f.jpg

with Sylent

I knew Sylent was performing on the day but I didn’t expect him to be one of the first few people I saw.  It was great to see him after so many years.  I think I last saw him close to 4 years ago!  This is one talented guitarist.  I took a lot of videos of him performing and posted some of them on my Twitter Timeline.  He is a great person full of life, love and laughter, never a dull moment with him.  He likes to call himself the “Guitar Sangoma” and trust me he has every right to do so!

62c48b58-027e-40ba-b0a1-2cad5ef3f11d

with Rufaro from Food n Co

My next stop was this interesting looking stall.  I was a woman on a mission.  I really wanted to interact with as many people as I could before it got to busy.  There is nothing like having that one on one interaction and getting someone’s full attention.  Rufaro told me about the “Secret Dinner”they will be holding on the 4th of March and I put my name down for it and also bought a raffle ticket while I was at it.  I am going to try and make this as short and sweet as possible…. It’s a fresh initiative that synergies the creative force that is embedded within Zimbabwean born and internationally trained chefs and the burning passion of a new breed of musicians decorating the underground scene in Harare. For one night only every 2 months, seasoned and discerning palates will get to enjoy an evening of transformed local ingredients paired with international recipes and the undeniably gifted musicians who are disrupting the local scene. It is a good “food meets good music” vibe that will get the privileged 100 guests yearning for more and eagerly awaiting the next offering.  For a token amount you get to enjoy a 3 course meal, get to meet the chefs, dance the night away and celebrate the new breed of Zimbabwean creatives who are definitely going to transform international gastronomy halls.  Call, app or sms Natalie on 0774168542, in order to get the ‘big reveal’.  It’s happening on Saturday the 4th of MARCH 2017 so get ready ladies and gentlemen!!!  We all know how much I love all things divine so chances of seeing me at this event are highly likely.

 

imLOyJ41.jpg

with Josh @_6_Legend

n it was time for more pictures.  A girl can never have one too many pictures in her gallery.  Social Media really comes to life when you attend events.  Mel and I follow each other on social media platforms and this was our first time seeing each other.  Lady K is a member of my running group and we finally got to meet and have a brief chat.  The weather was perfect on Saturday and most people were dressed to the nines. The way I am always scared of the weather changing up on me I completely forgot to bring a jacket along with me but it was not actually necessary after all, all the dancing, screaming and chatting made sure nothing else mattered.

96125df0-c1fa-40dc-8f0d-e3b5255070c8.jpg

Foooood!  The other plus for attending UnPlugged is that you get to bring your own food and drinks if you like but for $10.  I think it’s a great deal because that way you get to eat exactly what you want and not have to complain about how you didn’t enjoy the food.  Back to that mouth-watering meat…The pork was calling my name, I had to have it! But I didn’t, because I was still full from the late lunch I had at home.  However, the good news is I got chatting with the owner of the stall and I think he should come through for my birthday party this year.  I spoke to The Spitman and he told me that he charges $250 to do a spit but this does not include the animal but will have charcoal marinades and service as part of the $250.  He makes his own home made barbeque sauces and marinades.  His team does the Greek, Portuguese, English and American style spits.  I have no clue what those are and I will certainly be making friends with Google after this!  You can get in touch with him on 0772892052 for all your weddings, corporate events, family gatherings and all types of events UnPlugged included!

f7dd7f27-69f9-430b-8a5f-772a989095f4.jpg

ab94f4fe-b09d-4cc0-9c55-2548dfcf8c34.jpg

91c1d628-ccf0-4dd0-b5e1-2f77115d34ed.jpg

f28384fc-4050-414f-bdb4-7c3b992ae4f5.jpg

Initially I wanted to tell you everything that happened at UnPlugged but I have decided that you should make a date and come see how beautiful the afternoon experience is.  I can only tell you so much but you have to experience it to believe it.  I had a wonderful time and even though I had promised myself I would be out of there by 5pm I found myself hanging out till the event was over.  I had two body guards(read as booty guards) who later joined me and they made sure the afternoon was double the fun.

e07aee76-ad33-4862-b8d2-437bcd11f377.jpg

Booty Guards

Minus the burnt burger that I had later on in the evening everything about this afternoon was perfect. I would recommend this event to anyone who likes a laid back environment to spend with family and friends.  There is no need to be shouting on top of your voices because the music is just right and you can spend actual quality time. The best part is that the event is usually held towards the end of the month so you have enough time to save and plan around the day.  You also get to network, the number of contacts I made in one afternoon alone!  Don’t take networking for granted.  You don’t know what the next person knows.

I asked my two body guards how their first experience was like and this is what they had to say:

Booty Guard 1: It was a nice chilled vibe with amazing music and good company.  Given a chance I would  want to go back each time the event is hosted.

Booty Guard 2:  It was a different yet fun experience for me seeing that it was my first time there.  The place was chilled relaxed and I got to meet new people.  I will definitely be going back again for the experience. I loved every second of it!

I would like to say thank you to the Founders of UnPlugged, both Elinah and Chiedza for giving me an opportunity to come through and write about my experience at their event.  I also want to thank Ameera Mimi; that Women Creative Wednesday session you featured on a few weeks back is the reason I got a chance to write this post today.  You specifically said that if you want something you should reach out and ask and I did exactly that!

263d7fff-eede-4619-a28d-a074907b6345.jpg

UnPlugged Magic: Love. Live. Music

Those who like to keep stats on events; roughly 1200 paying people camethrough on Saturday and the total of people who attended the event were in probably about 1300.  How epic is that!!!

What did you get up to this weekend?  I bet you did not have as much fun as I did!  Have you been to UnPlugged before, if yes how was your experience?

©MaKupsy 2017

7 thoughts on “Unplugged Magic: Love. Live. Music.

    • It is, they watch over the kids till 6pm and normally most parents want to go home anyway. I know lil Zane will have a great time. The next one is in April, be sure to come through and as always, thank you for reading 🙂

      Like

  1. preach sister! i loved it the first time I went there and have been going to every other unplugged eversince. i sadly missed the one held over the weekend because I was out of town with work but rest assured on 15 April I will be the first at the gate #lol

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ohh man, at least you have been there before but the thing about UnPlugged, every experience is different. I hope to see you on the next one in April and we can take lots of pictures. Thank you for reading.

      Like

  2. Pingback: UnPlugged : Pineapple Creative Studio – MAKUPSY

  3. Pingback: 10 Exciting UnPlugged Facts – MAKUPSY

Leave a Reply

