Let That Sh*t Go!

My inspiration for today’s post struck last night when I was doing my monthly ritual.  I have a habit of going through all my shelves in my wardrobe and deciding on what I should keep; what I should give away to someone who will fit into it because lately the majority of my clothes don’t fit anymore thanks to weight loss or pass on to the strangers that sometimes knock at my door asking for any form of donations.  After yesterday’s clean up I can safely say I have a few decent clothes between me and who knows when I will do my next shopping for clothes but it feels good.

f030bf28fdfb422046d2c41f8103fa27.jpg

Image from Google

Believe it or not but I have three handbags in my life.  The main reason being I don’t particularly like handbags and the the three that I have are bags I actually use and not just keep.  Why am I like this?  Because I believe that you should only keep what you use.  Nothing more nothing less.  I remember trying to explain this ritual to a friend of mine the one time…I said to them:

I always imagine that if I died today and people had to go through my things I don’t want them to be pissed off with me and having them question why I kept outdated clothes.  

In our culture when someone passes on those who remain get to inherit the clothes of the deceased.  Now imagine having to get something that was a hit in 2000 in 2017.  I would be equally annoyed!

This is the part where I confess to getting shocked when I have visited a few people.  People keep THE most ridiculous things.  How do you still have the bicycle that your now 21 year old grandson used to ride when he was only 5 years old?  Why do you still have empty shoes boxes of Nike running shoes you bought 2 years ago, why are you keeping empty jars in your fridge?  Let that shit go please, you need to do this thing they call decluttering!

8cd212e403c1046a9f9d6005dcae2e39.jpg

Image from Pinterest

Okay, back to my story.  Sometime last year I gave away two pairs of heels that had been sitting in my office for close to a year.  You see when I give away my things I make sure I give away something that is still in good condition.  The person I gave them to was so ecstatic you would think she had won a grand prize.  Guess what happened a few weeks after this incident?  My sister took me shopping and bought me not one but two very gorgeous pairs of shoes!  Something about giving makes room for new things to come your way…

I understand that people get attached to different things, clothes included but I want to challenge you do go through your things and really question why you still need some of them.  When you do find the things to give away make sure the clothes or shoes or whatever you pick out is still in good condition.  You don’t want to defeat the whole purpose of the exercise by giving away something that’s tattered and torn.  Give something away that someone will truly appreciate and use for the next few months or so.

There is a liberating feeling I get each time I clear my closet.  Don’t limit yourself to just clearing your clothes, go all out and move to your kitchen utensils, bathroom equipment, old magazines and so on.  Just don’t do it in one day though, it can be really taxing!

When was the last time you cleaned up your closet, what did you give away?

©MaKupsy 2017

4 thoughts on “Let That Sh*t Go!

  1. For me it actually started with diaries, letters and pictures. I’d always dispose of “oldies” when I move into a new “season” if you may. It over lapsed to clothes etc when I had to move from Harare to Bulawayo for Varsity. I promise you, I wanted to carry every little thing I owned but I was disappointed because when you leave between two places things get lost and broken in transit. I had to learn to only have what I needed and not form an attachment with material things. I detest people who keep a load of junk they ‘might use”. Minimalism is key.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for reading babes. I am happy to note that you finally got to realise that sometimes less is more. Nothing as nice as actually having cupboard space. 🙂

      Like

  2. I do a clean out once every few months and make a pile for Good Will and a pile for people close to me that can really use items.. I still have all the clothes sitting out ready to be given/donated and your post just motivated me to do it.. Thanks so much for sharing this !!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for reading. I am happy to know that I am not alone on the clean up campaign every once in a while. You need that, it gives you a serious feeling of liberation that you can’t even begin to describe. If I was close by I would have come through to check out the clothes seeing that I have had to give away half my wardrobe 😦

      Like

Leave a Reply

