Delicious Fine Food Emporium

“Try Delicious Fine Food Emporium.”  

That’s the reply I got from a guy who said he would prefer to be named as “a handsome dimpled Ndebele guy”.  You can never go wrong when you ask your friends on social media for recommendations.

I hooked up with my partner in loving all things nice and headed out for breakfast on Sunday morning.

20161106_130413

We were greeted by a bubbly young waiter who introduced himself as Melvin.  We opted for a table for two and got the cosy table by the corner right next to the mini balcony.  I asked him what he would recommend for breakfast, something filling though because we were dying from hunger.  He gave us options and we ordered some cappuccino while we waited for our food.  Someone has to tell me what they call the biscuit they put on the side of your cappuccino and why they only put an incy wincy size.  The way that biscuit goes down and sadly you have only one of it.  Let’s play nice guys, why not give us three of those yummy biscuits, yes, no, maybe, am I stretching my luck? LOL

20161106_122525.jpg
USD2

I will tell you one of the few things I loved about this place, the cool breeze and fresh air.  Given the current heat wave sitting indoors was not ideal.  I also got to watch people taking leisurely walks on a Sunday morning and that kept me away from my phone for a while. (still trying to battle my phone addiction).  The other thing I was happy with was that the food didn’t take forever and a day to come through.

IMG-20161106-WA0054.jpg
Breakfast Tramazzini USD11

That was my plate.  I LOVE COLOUR.  Just looking at this got my mouth watering it was unbelievable! Underneath the pancake was bacon, scrambled eggs, tomato and Parmesan shavings.  I have no idea what the last thing is but it tasted absolutely delicious!  The salad had a dash of dressing which I have to have!  My food was so juicy and tender I could feel nothing but pure bliss while I ate.  This is what breakfast should look like, I took a few tips from this and I will certainly be trying this at home.  The presentation definitely won be over as well.  I believe when you see food in a plate you should get excited about it and trust me I couldn’t wait to dig in!

IMG-20161106-WA0048.jpg
Farmhouse Breakfast USD 11

This was my partner in loving nice things had. Two eggs, smokey bacon, pork sausage, grilled tomato, fried potato, banana and toast.  What a mouthful!  When I asked him about his meal he said and I quote” What I liked about the Deli is you feel at home…it’s like a home away from home.  It did not feel like a restaurant and I got to enjoy my meal in a relaxed environment.  The meal was delicious, food presentation was good and I ordered a filling meal that was worth every bite.”

During our meal I took a note of a few things that I wasn’t particularly happy with.  That ketchup bottle was close to finishing and I had a hard time squeezing it out.  I remember saying to myself I am going to splash some sauce on my white shorts and that nearly happened!  Boy was I going to be pissed off or what??!  I would like to believe that replacing a ketchup bottle with a new one is not too much work and I hope someone looks into this because it’s not a good look.

img-20161106-wa0051

I had fallen in love with the white rose in a glass at first glance but when I realised it was those plastic flowers I was disappointed.  I think fresh flowers would certainly not break a budget.  Maybe buying those bunches that will bloom, those will certainly last long.  I am sure there are inexpensive flowers somewhere in town.  Fussy much?

20161106_125029.jpg

Back to the fun stuff.  I cleared my plate, well, we both did even though half the time we were trying out things from the next persons plate.  I do that a lot when I eat out.  Make sure that I order something different from the next person so that we get to try out two different meals at once.  You should try this out and let me know how that goes for you.  There was just a fork and knife left in both our plates when Melvin came back to clear the table.

My experience here was great.  Melvin kept coming back to check on us to find out if everything was okay and if we needed anything else.  One of the few reasons I will be back for another visit is because the staff are friendly and cheerful  They give you a warm welcome and that’s definitely a plus for me.  I would certainly recommend this restaurant to friends and family.  On a scale of 0-10, 10 being completely satisfied with my experience I will give Delicious Fine Food Emporium a cool 8.  They should expect to see me again sometime soon because their lunch menu got me feeling very excited.

P.S The restaurant really needs to work on getting a Facebook, Twitter and Instagram page.  We are living in the age of technology, make it easy for us to find you.

Their address is: Shop 97A Sam Levy’s Village, Borrowdale, Harare

Have you been to this restaurant before, if yes, how was your experience?

©MaKupsy 2016

7 thoughts on “Delicious Fine Food Emporium

    1. Ah, askana one night chete and I feel like I was smashed by a train, hakuna! The meal was delicious. Make sure you bookmark this page for when you come to Zim, I will definitely take you there.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment